Resources for Players

LOCAL TEACHERS

STUDENT VIOLS/BOWS

STRINGS

REPAIRS

BOW REHAIRING

 

Short biographies of the English Viol Composers (in process) are available here (compiled by a Pacifica Viols member, Nick Jones, and stored on his website).

The Viola da Gamba Society of America provides many useful resources on its website, including:

The U.K. Viola da Gamba Society has a rich website, especially under the heading Publications, where their editions are listed for sale, and where a Thematic Index of Composers can be consulted (listing individual works by composer, each with a short “incipit,” a  quote in musical notation of the opening theme.

Looking to buy an instrument? Regional and national viol workshops/conferences (such as Conclave) often feature viol and bow makers who allow you to try out and compare instruments.

 

Local Teachers (those who give online lessons indicated)

Penny Hanna Aptos 831/662-3134 phanna@cruzio.com
Melita Denny Davis 805/835-9173 madenny@ucdavis.edu
Alexa Haynes-Pilon El Cerrito and Davis 323/388-9597 alexa.pilon@gmail.com
Shira Kammen El Cerrito 510/230-4172 sheenaqoj@gmail.com 
Amy Brodo (online) Oakland 510/482-3470 continuogirl@mac.com
Steven Lehning Oakland 415/621-7900 ext.201 BWV131@yahoo.com
David Morris (online) Oakland 510/658-3382 mahlsdorf@earthlink.net
Elisabeth Reed (online) Oakland 510/866-3964 soundbodies@gmail.com Feldenkrais specialist
William Skeen Oakland 510/334-3882 williamskeen@hotmail.com
Lynn Tetenbaum Oakland 510/823-7740 lynnt@gambagirl.com
Roy Whelden Oakland 510/601-1370 roywhelden@gmail.com 
Julie Jeffrey Richmond 510/484-8333 jjeffrey@library.berkeley.edu
Erik Andersen (online) San Francisco 718/310-8294  Erik.Christian.Andersen@gmail.com 
Farley Pearce (online) San Francisco 415/750-1536 farleypearce@yahoo.com
Gwyneth Davis  Sebastapol 707/823-7264 gwyneth@sonic.net Bass viol
Judiyaba Sebastapol 707/953-5479 yaba@sonic.net Treble viol
John Dornenburg (online) UK   Jd.lac@att.net Skype lessons

Student Viols/Bows

Boulder Early Music Shop Eugene, OR 800/499-1301 info@bems.com 
Daniel Foster 540/961-6326
Lazar’s Early Music Social Circle, GA LazarsEMS@gmail.com
Linda Shortridge 505/249-6221 Lindasviols@aol.com

Strings

Aquila Strings www.aquilausa.com 
Nicholas Baldock www.baldock.de
Boston Catlines- Olav Chris Henrikson www.bostoncatlines.com 
Boulder Early Music www.bems.com 
Gamut Music www.gamutmusic.com 
Ifshin Violins (El Cerrito) www.ifshinviolins.com 
Just Strings www.juststrings.com 
Musician’s Friend www.musiciansfriend.com
Charlie Ogle https://www.bems.com/walk.html?q_c=141

Repairs

Joan Balter Berkeley, CA 510/524-4333  
Roland Feller Violin Makers San Francisco, CA 510/524-4333 info@rolandfeller.com www.rolandfeller.com
Devin Hough Woodland, CA 530/750-1132 devin.hough@gmail.com www.devinhoughviolins.com
Ifshin Violins (Colin Shipman) El Cerrito, CA 510/843-5466 Colin.shipman@gmail.com www.ifshinviolins.com
Herb Myers Stanford, CA 650/854-1447 hwm@stanford.edu

Bow Rehairing

Joan Balter Berkeley, CA 510/524-4333  
Roland Feller Violin Makers San Francisco, CA 415/567-3708 info@rolandfeller.com www.rolandfeller.com
Ifshin Violins El Cerrito, CA 510/843-5466 info@ifshinviolins.com www.ifshinviolins.com
Shrader Bows San Francisco, CA  415/867-4503 www.shraderbows.com
Devin Hough Woodland, CA 530/750-1132 devin.hough@gmail.com www.devinhoughviolins.com
Cheryl A. Macomber Sacramento, CA 916/923-1744 violinsforu@yahoo.com 
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00